News Archive

• Song premiere
Philip is delighted that his new song, A Noiseless Patient Spider, is to receive its first performance during the 2017 Ludlow Weekend of English Song. This Whitman setting will be performed by soprano Louise Alder and pianist Iain Burnside in a programme devoted to Whitman to be given in Ludlow Parish Church on the evening of 20 May 2017. Booking is now open. Full details are available on the Ludlow Song website.

• Talks and recitals in October: London, Malvern & Gloucester
On Thursday 6th October Philip will be giving a lecture—recital with pianist Gavin Roberts at the British Academy in London, exploring the work of Ivor Gurney. Details here. On 15 October he will be talking at the Autumn in Malvern Festival, again on Gurney (Details), and on 17 October will be giving a lunchtime recital at St. John’s Church, Northgate, Gloucester, with Jonathan Hope at the piano, with a programme of songs by Beethoven and Schubert.

• Bach and the Sentry at the St. Marylebone Festival
Philip's song, Bach and the Sentry is to receive its London première on 22 July 2016 at 7.30pm in a recital at the inaugural St. Marylebone Festival at St. Marylebone Parish Church. Jonathan Hyde (baritone) and Gavin Roberts (piano) will be performing the work in a programme commemorating WW1, 'War on all fronts'. Details here.

• Diary update (June 2016)
A recital and lecture-recital have just been added to the diary: in London Philip will be marking National Poetry Day, October 6th, with a lecture—recital with pianist Gavin Roberts at the British Academy, speaking about Ivor Gurney and performing his songs and poetry; and on 17 October Philip will be joined by Jonathan Hope in a recital of Beethoven and Schubert in Gloucester.

• CD Release (June 2016)
A new CD has been released featuring Philip's editions of Ivor Gurney's Ludlow & Teme and the slow movement of his 1924-25 string quartet in D minor. The Bridge Quartet are joined by Charles Daniel and Michael Dussek. Details on the EM Records website.

• War Passion Premiere
Philip is thrilled to announce that his new chamber oratorio, a setting of the Passion with commentary taken from the words of ten War Poets, is to be given its first performance on 24 July 2016 at Cirencester Parish Church as part of the Gloucester Three Choirs Festival. It is a huge privilege to have this work programmed in such a prestigious festival. The War Passion will be performed by the Saint Cecilia Singers and the Bristol Ensemble, conducted by Jonathan Hope. Full details about the performance are available on the Three Choirs Festival website. I am also giving a talk about the work on the previous day of the Festival (23 July) in St. Mary de Lode church, Gloucester. Further information about the War Passion is available here.

• New WW1 song for baritone and piano now available for purchase
In June [2015] Philip completed a setting of Ivor Gurney’s war poem, ‘Bach and the Sentry’ — a setting dedicated to the memory of the poet and scholar Jon Stallworthy. Further details can be found on the Works page, and scores of this song are now available to purchase from this site.

• Gurney choral work on CD (December 2014)
Philip’s edition of Ivor Gurney’s motet for double choir, Since I Believe in God the Father Almighty, has its first commercial CD release in a new disc of Evensong sung by Gloucester Cathedral Choir, for which Philip has also supplied the sleeve note. It is released on Priory Records and is available here: Music for Evensong at Gloucester Cathedral commemorating the start of the ‘War to end all wars’

• US Premiere for Western Playland edition (October 2014)
Philip's edition of Ivor Gurney’s song cycle for baritone, string quartet and piano, The Western Playland (and of Sorrow) will receive its US premiere under the auspices of the New England Light Opera on 9 November, with further performances on 15 and 16 November. Details can be found here.

• Naxos Recording (11 July 2014)
Philip's orchestration of Ivor Gurney’s choral setting of Edward Thomas, The Trumpet, has been recorded for CD release by Naxos. Hilary Davan Wetton conducted the City of London Choir and the London Mozart Players in a programme that also includes Gerald Finzi’s Requiem da Camera and Ralph Vaughan Williams’s Oxford Elegy. I'll post the release date when known.

• Poetry Book Published (1 June 2014)
Philip's first poetry collection, Fulcrum, was published on 1 June. Click here for more details.

• Postdoctoral Fellowship at Exeter University (May 2014)
Philip has been awarded a prestigious British Academy Postdoctoral Research Fellowship to continue his work on Ivor Gurney under the aegis of Exeter University's Dept. of English. The post will begin in September 2014, and will enable Philip to undertake, with Tim Kendall, the complete edition of Gurney's poetry for the Oxford University Press, and to write a monograph on Gurney's work.